Ben O'Connor wins the Vuelta Ciclista a la Región de Murcia - Costa Cálida – Gran Premio Primafrio 2024

 Ciclista a la Región de Murcia
  • The Decathlon - AG2R rider has beaten Tim Wellens to the top on the Cresta del Gallo
  • The race was decided by the numerous cuts caused by the mountain passes and the constant presence of wind
  • Jan Tratnik ha sido segundo y Tim Wellens ha cerrado el podio 

The Vuelta Ciclista a la Región de Murcia - Costa Cálida - Gran Premio Primafrio 2024 has been an all out battle from start to finish between the best teams of the world. The race started at 10:30 am at Primafrio's headquarters. After a neutralized route through the center of Alhama de Murcia on the way to Totana. 

The battle between teams has been constant since the KM 0 sign of Juan de Dios Climatización. After several attacks, 9 riders have managed to break the peloton. Tosh Van Der Sande, Mathias Norsgaard, Arne Marit, Paul Lapeira, Andoni Lopez De Abetxuko, Thomas Gachignard, Ward Vanhoof, Juan David Sierra and Alex Molenaar went in the crosswinds that have been a constant during the 199 kilometers of race. 

This breakaway has fought for the victory in the first Meta Volante, in which the Rojas Family Trophy has been disputed. A prize with which we recognize and celebrate the role that the Rojas family has had and has in regional cycling and in our career. The winner has been Andoni López de Abetxuco. 

The breakaway had up to 5 minutes of advantage in the foothills of Sierra Espuña. A breakaway that Tosh van der Sande has taken advantage of to pass in first position the Alto de Aledo and the Collado Bermejo - Cima Marco Pantani. Something that earned him the mathematical victory in the Mountain classification. 

It was here that the big moment of the race took place. Sepp Kuss attacked on the ramps of Collado Bermejo. On his wheel jumped the big favorites for the final victory. Among them were Ben O'Connor, Daniel Felipe Martínez, Tim Wellens, Nicolas Prodhomme and Jefferson Cepeda. A climb that has discarded other great riders who aspired to victory. Among them, Arnaud de Lie. 

After the long descent, the crosswinds started. The passage through Mula was made very fast, and Decathlon AG2R took advantage of their numerical superiority to keep the gap with a very reduced peloton. A battle that they maintained with INEOS Grenadiers, the only team of the big ones that had not put anyone in the lead. Paul Lapeira won the Meta Volante - Luis León Sánchez. 

O'Connor and Wellens jumped from this group. An attack with 45 kilometers to go that was the key moment of the race. The gap between these two riders and their pursuers increased rapidly until it stabilized at a minute and a half. A gap they maintained until the Cresta del Gallo. 

Wellens won the Molina de Segura's Meta Volante, while O'Connor won the one in Murcia. The Australian took the victory in this classification and would wear the Gobik Blue jersey of Balneario de Archena on the final podium. 

The victory was decided on the Cresta del Gallo. After a great understanding, Wellens couldn’t take it anymore and left the victory in the hands of O'Connor. After a long breakaway of more than 100 kilometers and a solo ride in the Huerta of Murcia, Ben O'Connor won the Vuelta Ciclista a la Región de Murcia - Costa Cálida - Gran Premio Primafrio. An impressive victory that has achieved with almost a minute over Tratnik, who attacked in the Cresta and shortly after left behind Wellens, who was third. 

Ben O'Connor won the yellow jersey of the Primafrio Grand Prix. Second has been Jan Tratnik ahead of Tim Wellens. O'Connor also won the Metas Volantes. 

Visma won the DKMetro Group red points Gobik King of the Mountain jersey and the Cima Marco Pantani with Tosh van der Sande. Igor Arrieta was the best young rider and took the Gobik White KIA M. Gallego jersey. 

Antonio Jesús Soto was the best rider from Murcia and won the gray Gobik jersey of Juan de Dios Climatización. Michal Kwiatkowski won the Combativity Award - Luis León Sánchez and wore the light blue jersey of Ayuntamiento de Mula. 

The Arco Valoraciones Prize for the best team went to UAE Team Emirates ahead of Bora Hansgrohe and Decathlon AG2R.